Skip to main content

Tenth district, membership lists, 1958-1961

 File — Box: 112, Folder: 6
Identifier: SERIES VI:

Scope and Contents of the Series

From the Series: Minutes, correspondence, membership records and lists, limited financial records, and constitutions and bylaws make up the records of the GNA districts. Districts are the smallest unit of organization making up the GNA. Basic membership for professional nurses begins at the district level and conveys membership to each of the larger umbrella organizations, GNA and ANA. In addition there are a series of annual district reports from 1963-1973 that were sent from each district to GNA headquarters as well as two separate sets of membership rosters from each district from 1947 and 1956.

The early years of GNA district organization was somewhat haphazard, and it was not until 1930 that the districts were reorganized to coincide with US congressional districts. Over time districts change boundaries and three districts split according to membership's needs. The collection's district holdings are organized according to geography, and so places should be relied on more than exact district titles. The collection's district organization does not exactly coincide with modern GNA district organization because the collection only includes district materials up until the mid to late 1970s, and thus only includes districts one through seventeen.

The materials of GNA fifth district, which includes Atlanta, because of its large size and complexity has its own series (Series VII) and is not included here.

This series contains records for the following districts (the geographical area covered by the district in 1971 as well as the district headquarters if known in indicated in brackets):
  • District 1 records including professional registry, 1919-1976 [Telfair*, Wheeler*, Treutlen*, Emanuel*, Jenkins*, Screven*, Montgomery*, Toombs*, Tattnall*, Long, McIntosh, Liberty, Evans*, Candler*, Bulloch*, Bryan, Chatham, Effingham counties: HQ Savannah] *these counties were part of the old 14th district from 1943-1947.
  • District 2 records, 1926-1975 [Seminole, Decatur, Grady, Mitchell, Baker, Miller, Early, Calhoun, Dougherty counties: HQ Albany]
  • District 3 records, 1936-1974 [Clay, Randolph, Quitman, Stewart, Webster, Marion, Taylor, Harris, Muscogee, Chattahoochee counties: HQ Columbus]
  • District 4 records, 1937-1975 [Troup, Heard, Carroll, Coweta, Meriwether, Talbot, Upson, Pike, Lamar, Butts, Spalding, Fayette, Clayton, Henry counties]
  • District 6 records including professional registry, 1936-1975 [Jasper, Putnam, Jones, Monroe, Bibb, Twiggs, Bleckley, Washington, and Johnson counties: HQ Macon]
  • District 7 records, 1936-1974 [Chattooga, Floyd, Bartow, Polk, Haralson counties: HQ Rome]
  • District 8 records, 1938-1974 [Coffee, Atkinson, Clinch, Jeff Davis, Bacon, Ware, Charlton, Camden, Glynn, Brantley, Wayne, Pierce, Appling counties: HQ Waycross]
  • District 9 records, 1935-1974 [Gwinnett, Barrow, Jackson, Banks, Stephens, Forsyth, Dawson, Pickens, Lumpkin, Fannin, Union, Towns, White, Rabun, Habersham, Hall counties: HQ Gainesville]
  • District 10 records including professional registry, 1919-1975 [Burke, Richmond, Columbia, Lincoln, McDuffie, Warren, Glascock, Jefferson, Taliaferro counties: HQ Augusta]
  • District 11 records, 1936-1974 [Walton, Morgan, Greene, Oconee, Clarke, Oglethorpe, Wilkes, Elbert, Hart, Madison, Franklin counties: HQ Athens]
  • District 12 records, 1943-1974 [Terrell, Lee, Sumter, Schley, Macon, Dooly, Crisp, Wilcox, Dodge, Ben Hill, Turner counties: HQ Americus/Coredele]
  • District 13 records, 1958-1974 [Paulding, Douglas, Cobb, Cherokee counties] The original 13th district was subsumed by the 2nd and 8th districts in 1947. This new 13th district was split off from the 7th, 5th and 9th districts to handle the northern Atlanta suburbs in 1958. This collection does not have any material from the old 13th district, only the material from 1958-1974.
  • District 14 records, 1943-1947 [Telfair, Wheeler, Montgomery, Treutlen, Emanuel, Toombs, Tattnall, Evans, Candler, Jenkins, Screven, Bulloch counties: HQ Swainsboro] Formed in 1943, this first incarnation of the 14th district was absorbed by the 1st district in 1947 due to lack of membership. District 14 records, 1962-1975 [Hancock, Baldwin, Wilkinson, Laurens counties: HQ Milledgeville] This new 14th district was split off from the 6th district in 1962 to allow both districts to deal more effectively with the two major medical centers in the district.
  • District 15 records, 1963-1974 [Wirth, Tift, Irwin, Berrien, Lanier, Echols, Lowndes, Cook, Brooks, Thomas, Colquitt counties] Replacement for the old 13th district.
  • District 16 records, 1963-1975 [Dade, Walker, Catoosa, Whitfield, Murray, Gilmer, Gordon counties: HQ Ft. Oglethorpe/Dalton] Split from 7th district.
  • District 17 records, 1971-1975 [Crawford, Peach, Houston, Pulaski counties]


  • 1958-1961

Restrictions on Access

Access to sound recordings and motion pictures is restricted for preservation purposes. Access to certain records containing personal information is restricted. All restrictions are noted in the inventory.

Consult archivist regarding Special Collections Department restriction policies.


From the Series: 14.32 Linear Feet (in 31 boxes, 1 oversize box)

Language of Materials

From the Collection: English


Repository Details

Part of the Special Collections Repository

100 Decatur St., S.E.
Atlanta, Georgia 30303
404-413-2881 (Fax)